Bring on the belly-achin’.

Yuck.  It’s been a rough week.  Started getting sick on Sunday, spent the next two days getting sicker and the previous two days in Chicago helping my girlfriend get her condo ready to be sold, which, for my part, involved some painting, some heavy lifting, and a fair amount of coughing.  Monday, however, was spent alone in Michigan and at the height of my varied “flu-like” symptoms (swine flu-like symptoms?) in a laziness-induced coma of sorts, during which a number of minor evils were visited upon me.   Most notable among these evils was the viewing of 1986 animated blockbuster, Transformers: Teh Movie, with Robert Stack, Orson Welles, and Leonard Nimoy (as Galvatron).  That seems to have had some effects which I currently perceive as both negative and lasting.  Although… when it’s not busy being inferior to the TV version in nearly every way imaginable, the movie can actually be sort of hilarious.  Allow me to demonstrate: “Me, Grimlock, not nice dino! Me bash brains!”

5 thoughts on “Bring on the belly-achin’.

  1. Ugh, sorry you’ve been sick, but this was a very familiar story, as just last year, someone (maybe me…I was ill so it’s difficult to remember) decided to punish me for some unknown and possibly unresolved issues with Masters of the Universe (1987). Aside from getting some laughs at Courtney Cox pre-Friends…it was just awful.
    Feel better.
    Keep writing, this post cracked me up.

  2. Thanks, Andy 🙂
    It’s always a shame when the classics let us down in our hour of need. Although, to be fair, I don’t think either cinematic release was ever accorded the same touchstone status as its short-form source material 🙂

    The first two TMNT live-action flicks weren’t bad though… ‘cept maybe for introducing the whole Raph as Anti-Social Brooklyn Bully thing, a regrettable twist from which his character has never fully recovered. Sigh, now I’m depressed again, haha

  3. i love you so much for posting this.

    and total agreement re: TMNT & TMNT 2: the secret of the ooze!

    you’ve seen the third one set in feudal japan, right?

  4. Feudal Japan is where they started to lose me… I saw it, but I don’t remember being impressed enough to ever see it again. The first two, on the other hand… well, not even Rob Van Winkle or a Raph re-write could ruin them 😛

Leave a Reply

